To Keep You Close

At this point in my life where I’m still building up my own family and career, there are many challenges and uncertainties that I face and still have to face.

Will I be able to provide all my wife’s and future children’s needs?
If something bad happens in the future, will our resources be enough?
Can I still go to post-grad to enhance my knowledge?
Will I end up retiring as a successful CFO?
Will I be able to handle all mishaps that could come my family’s way?

Truth be told, I cringe whenever I ask myself these questions. Fears settle in. If only I could take a sneak peek of my future and know that things will be stable so as to calm all my fears. But God’s way of taking away my fear is different.

Isaiah 41:10 says:
“Fear not for I am with you, I will strengthen you and uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Fear not.. for I am with you. It did not say, ‘fear not, for I will reveal to you all the things that I am going to do’. He only said ‘for I am with you’, period.

I asked God, “Wouldn’t it be better if you would also reveal your detailed roadmap for my life? That would calm me more.” And God said, “This is all you need to know, I am with you, and my presence is enough.”

God then convinced me that concealing what the future holds, allowing uncertainty is the most loving thing He could do by giving me this vision:

“Imagine you are a toddler on a field trip. Because you are scared of being lost, you hold on tightly to your teacher or your parent. You always keep a close distance. That’s how it is with Me, I want to keep you close. I am not like a commander who briefs you with a detailed mission blueprint in this life then leaves you on your own. For me, that’s not love.”

phot not mine. taken from fotolia.com

phot not mine. taken from fotolia.com

“Keeping you close to me is my definition of love. Leaving you with a detailed roadmap and all the power to do it will make you self-sufficient. I don’t want that. I want you to seek me everyday. Because I love you, I want you to give you what will completely and eternally satisfy you, and that is……………………….………… Me.”

There’s no question that God is able, and there’s no shadow of doubt about His love for you because He even died for you. But talking to Him, getting to know Him, you seeing His glory, you experiencing His loving presence, these are the things that He wants you to have more in your life. These are more valuable than our daily/physical concerns.

I do believe God’s call to live by faith and not by sight (2 Cor 5:7) is out of His love for us. To live by sight (to live with all certainty and self-sufficiency) is to lose sight of Him. God knows How much we need Him, He wants us to seek Him, so that in finding him we’ll find real love, real joy, real peace, real satisfaction, real life.

So draw close.. always.. the God who loves you so much awaits…

About leovillanueva

I am God's boy :)
This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

