What is your One Thing?

“In all things, God works for the good of those who love Him.” -Romans 8:28

“Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and all these things shall be added unto you.” -Matthew 6:33

“In all things, we are more than conquerors through Him who loves us.” -Romans 8:37

One common phrase in the above verses is “all things”. I love the word all, its very encompassing. It’s God saying to me that I got it all covered, I got you covered. Worry not because I can add to you all the things you are worried about, do not be disappointed because in all things I work for the good, and in every struggle I am more than a conqueror through him who loved me. If it doesn’t make you jump out of your seat and shout for joy, it should make you merry in the quiet at the least because you are blessed by this assurance. God’s assurance is greater than any insurance offered by this world. An insurance is either, either life, health, car etc. but when He says all, He means all!

God covers us because He knows that worries and fears are what will keep us from seeking and following Him. Aside from sin, there are two things he tells us not to do: to worry and to fear. While it is true that us Christians are not exempt from thinking about the cares of this world, we should always let go of the urge to think about it too much and try to make sense of everything. We cannot do that, we are not meant to do that and that is beyond our capacity. We are also not meant to be afraid of stepping out and live a predictable, safe life either. I am guilty of the many hours I have spent on worrying instead of praying, the many times I hesitated to reach out because I fear I don’t have something to give, many times that I thought I have nothing to give to others, because I myself have many things to worry about. Clearly, fear and worry cripples you, it’s time and attention wasted as well.

God wants to make you know today that He has covered everything, so He can be your One Thing. The One Thing that you seek, the One Thing that you follow. Instead of worrying out of the urge to understand and to make sense of everything, He wants you to grasp how wide, long and deep His love is (Ephesians 3:18). Instead of following the ways of the world out of wanting to meet all your needs, He wants you to follow His commands to show that His will for you is good, pleasing and perfect (Romans 12:2).

God wants to be the only one that you lean on. The proverbs say “Trust in the Lord, with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding”. Leaning is where you put the weight of your life to rest and whats peculiar about leaning is you can only do it on One Thing. Where are you leaning on today? Are you leaning on someone, or on your plans? What if God interrupts your plans? What happens? If you are leaning on God, trusting His goodness and unfailing love, you will not be shaken, knowing that He is good.

You cannot chase after many ‘one things’, you cannot put your trust many things. It’s too dangerous that it can discombobulate you, even destroy you. It’s not the way you were made. Further, if God said I will add unto you all things so that you will seek me, or if He said that He will give you the desires of our heart, so that you will delight yourself in Him. Do you think it will work? I think it will be very chaotic. You will not be able to get a full hold of everything, let alone make you forget to seek and love the Provider. Seek and trust your One Thing today. Only this One Thing who loves you and who can hold everything together. It will not only get you the answer to all your cares, it will also give you everything, even the maturity, the faith, a greater measure of His love, wisdom and many other fruits that goes along with it.

If God will grant you one wish everyday, what will it be?

“One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in His temple.” -Psalm 27:4

I hope we choose to seek, trust and follow Jesus, our One Thing, everyday. Choose this and you chose well, because everything else will follow. 🙂

photo is not mine. taken from www.inboundsales.net

photo is not mine. taken from http://www.inboundsales.net

About leovillanueva

I am God's boy :)
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

