Fake It ‘Til You Make It

One thing I have been learning lately in my walk with God is the concept of Fake It ‘Til You Make It. It means doing something even if you’re not really emotionally positive towards doing it.

I may not feel like reading the Bible, but I have to fake it ’til I make it.

I may not feel like doing paper works in the office, but I have to fake it ’til I make it.

I may not feel like raising my hands during worship, but I will fake it ’til I make it.

I may not feel like pursuing Angela when we quarrel and I’m right, but guys, our girl is always right so we have to fake it ’til we make it.

Does it mean that my love for God is fake? Not exactly.

There came a point that I tried to equate my love for God with emotions, and it really didn’t work. I would spend hours listening to worship songs first before reading my Bible, but I just couldn’t find the emotion I’m searching for and would end up not reading my Bible at all. I would search for that emotion everyday, and in disappointment would not find it. It has been a vicious cycle and I know that I’m not growing in my walk.  It’s exasperating, and not helpful at all..

John 14:15 simply says that “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.”

Eureka! I got it! My love is as organic as it can be in my obedience. God didn’t say that if you love Me,  you will have that burning and passionate emotion towards Me.

Ahhhhh! Poor me! My Bible is so plain and simple but I tend to complicate it. God simply tells me to obey but I tend to “overspiritualize” things.

Walking with God is simply seeking God and obeying God. I guess I’m in that season right now, where God is teaching me to obey, period. As I practice “obedience.. period” I know I am maturing in loving Him and loving others. And I just know too that whatever it is that He is teaching me now, I’m going to need it for the next seasons of my life. What a loving God He is!

Knowing this captivates me once again. It’s really true, seek not the emotion first, but seek God first. Obey God. And when God opens Your eyes into what He is doing and has been doing, you will be captivated by Him again in the midst of your obedience. But.. if you’re in a situation right now wherein you’re obeying without the emotion, keep it up!

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not saying that it’s all about good works and no loving relationship is necessary. I’m no ‘pusong-bato’. I’m just encouraging you to fake it ’til He captivates you once again.  Fake it ’til you are able to see a clear picture of His great plan and it becomes easier for you to obey again. You’re not being a fake. You are just desperately seeking God in your obedience.. because you love God. 🙂

Rephrasing what my friend told me the other night, if God loves you and you love God, it’s unfair to say that you’re in a ‘plateau’. You are in a season and God is teaching you something. God is always at work in every seasons of our lives. But for now, just keep faking it.. til you make it!

 

“When my heart has grown cold,

There your love will unfold,

As you open my eyes to the work of Your hands..”

-Oceans Will Part, Hillsong

 

 

 

About leovillanueva

I am God's boy :)
This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fake It ‘Til You Make It

  1. Joe Hosking says:

    This is a really good thought, thank-you. I think that even though faking it can seem like a negative thing, if we carry out the action with even the smallest amount of faith, then God will meet us half way as it were.

Leave a Reply

